|
| gPeter wrote:
> How can you tell that ? How can you trace it ?
>
> gPeter
>
First, thanks for being up front in showing your location in Hungry.
Simple answer: Tracert on the URL of < 1pharmacy.biz > and geographic
locator sevice (SPAM ID in this case) for both IP addresses. ARIN
indicated the associated network administrators and contact information.
I'll not dwell on the TRACERT results. However, if you trace IP in
the header of this post, you'll note I'm in San Diego, California.
However, that said, people do manage to conceal their real locations
through anonymous news posting services. That could be the case here
and 1pharmacy.biz might just be a small Mom & Pop operation in Peoria
trying to eek out a living for their grandchildren. -- my experience
says otherwise.
If you desire the actual nuts and bolts of the tracerts, send a personal
email and I'll be glad to email them in return.
Sorry gPeter but some of the following my be distasteful and I apologize
for a strong personal bias. My spouse suffered a small credit card
fraud loss from a (supposed) Romanian entity several years ago. Our
bank reimbursed her for the amount (charge reversal) but informed us by
letter that they would not accept future charge reversal requests for
companies located in "Central Europe" or Southeast Asia. They related
that it was 'difficult' to gain the co-operation of both governmental
and bank officials in prosecuting such cases.
When a website doesn't offer any contact information (phone, location,
etc.) or other information as to where it does business, I consider it
suspect. (it "might be" trying to hide something -- or worse yet, "might
be" acting as a front for either phishing or pharming activities). When
the URL points to a network in central Europe, my "might be" changes to
a "probably is."
In this case the poster's email header showed an IP address in Romania.
Same for < www.1pharmacy.biz >. I don't know for sure where either is
really located. The text of that email was identical to a similar post
less than two months ago and it offered an unsolicited reference to a
commercial entity -- in violation of the charter of this newsgroup and
the spirit of the RFC's that guide Usenet activities.
Last year this newsgroup was plagued by a couple of spammers located in
the Northeastern U.S. who posted through anonymous services that traced
to Italy and prior Soviet-bloc countries. I'm sorry to report that,
network administrators in those countries were not responsive to our
abuse and cross-posting complaints. I don't know whether this was by
intent to protect trolls and spammers or if it was simply a matter of
neglect or workload.
Your header indicates that this post came through a computer located on
a CATV system in Bucharist, Hungry. I'll accept that at face value.
Welcome to this group. Please introduce yourself and tell us how things
are in Hungary. Right now it's quite cold in most locations in the
United States--the season to swallow a pill and cuddle under the covers!
--
....Lmac
|
|